Although nobody goes out of the house thinking about a road accident, automobile accidents are on the rise due to high traffic in almost every state. In this case, the state of Florida isn’t far. If you are a driver in Florida, it is highly likely that you have heard about the Florida PIP 14-Day rule. The complex law system of Florida is constantly changing and it is important as a citizen to know your responsibilities and legal rights when it comes to any kind of vehicle accident. Since Florida follows a no-fault system, it is important to act quickly if you or your loved one has been injured in a vehicle accident in Florida. To navigate through the complex law systems in the state, you can get in touch with the team of reliable accident lawyers at Bengal Law for getting the best possible justice. Let us learn a few more things about the Florida PIP 14-Day rule.
What is the 14-day rule in Florida?
In Florida, the 14-day rule stipulates that you must seek medical assistance within 14 days after an automobile accident. You cannot submit a PIP insurance claim if you do not see a doctor or get medical treatment within the stipulated period of time which is 14 days. Even if you suffer physical injuries, the 14-day rule states that you have to seek medical care within these specified days after the accident in order to get reimbursement for your medical expenses.
The 14-day PIP rule of Florida
Florida’s 14-day regulation derives from statute 627.736, which is legislation that oversees no-fault insurance. The goal is to obtain every physically injured individual in an accident medical coverage without having to dispute who is to blame or at fault. This is why the policy is frequently referred to as ‘Florida No-Fault Insurance’. It stipulates, with certain limitations and exclusions, that you have 14 days to seek medical treatment if you wish to claim personal injury protection benefits.
This is one of the new provisions that have a huge effect on thousands of Floridians. As Personal Injury Protection is no-fault insurance, it should pay 80 percent off of the first medical bills regardless of who caused the injury. It also covers other items like pay losses and death compensation.
Amount of time to file a PIP claim in Florida:
The time period for filing a PIP claim in Florida fully depends on the terms and conditions of the insurance policy you have. In most common cases, the insurance provider can offer you a significant amount of time for you to make a claim. But there are certain things you need to take care of so that your claim can be successful. Firstly the state police should do an on-site investigation of the accident site and make a report or you can file a police report of your accident within the first 10 days. Secondly, as we have talked about before, medical assistance must be sought within the stipulated time which is 14 days. Once you have completed these two steps, the insurance policy provider is going to decide the time of your PIP claim settlement.
What happens if you fail to adhere to the deadline?
You may wonder “What happens if it’s been more than 14 days and I still haven’t visited a doctor or sought any kind of medical care?” Your PIP insurance will most likely attempt to use the delay as a reason to refuse your claim. The 14-day rule for PIP claims in Florida is stringent and non-negotiable. The failure to seek professional medical care prior to the expiration of the deadline may be sufficient grounds for an insurance company to withhold or deny any kind of claim.
When should you hire a car accident lawyer?
Qualified car accident attorneys have worked with hundreds of vehicle accident cases and understand how to convince insurance companies to pay up the due amount. No matter what they have said during advertisements, just know that insurance companies are not in your favor when you have an accident. In such cases, when you contact an experienced car accident lawyer, he or she will battle for the best possible justice. Typically, PIP claims are limited to $10,000, but if your injuries are severe enough, your attorney may seek further legal action.
If you are a Florida driver who has been involved in an accident or know someone who has been affected by a vehicle mishap, it is very important to have an experienced team of PIP attorneys. They can help you to act quickly and get justice for reckless or negligent misconduct of another person. It is also important to know that certain insurance companies might take advantage of the recent changes that have been made in 2012 to the PIP law. Hence an experienced and reliable personal injury protection attorney or accident lawyer can be your best bet to get justice in case of a road accident in Florida.